Action 1:

Investigate Homeland Security. 

On Thursday the inspector general of the Department of Health and Human Services released a report disclosing thousands of previously unreported incidents of migrant children being separated from their families at the southern border.  These separations began months before Trump’s “zero tolerance” policy was announced in April 2018, when the government reported taking about 3000 children into custody.  In June 2018 a federal judge, in response to an A.C.L.U. lawsuit, was highly critical of the government’s treatment of the children and ordered that the separations cease and the children be returned.  The inspector general’s report this week states that separations have continued and the total number of children and their current whereabouts and status is unknown.  Most of these families were seeking asylum in the U.S., an act protected under international law.

Contact Congressman Wittman (202-225-4261 or 804-730-6595 or ) and demand that the House investigate Homeland Security’s past and current treatment of migrants seeking asylum.  Remind him this is a moral issue and he can not hide behind blaming the victims for their treatment. Join Senator Dick Durbin, D-IL in demanding that Department of Homeland Security secretary Nielsen resign.