Scholarship Recipients

We are pleased to announce the awardees for the Melissa J. Dopp/ Bobby Ostergren Scholarships. Valerie Shcherbakova from Hanover High School is the first place winner of $1,000. The runners-up, with $500 each are Nylah Brown from Atlee High School and Daniel Richardson from Hanover High School. These young Democrats have been quite active and we wish them well in college.


A reminder: we will determine our 1st Congressional District nominee in the Democratic Party primary on June 23. The candidates are Qasim Rashid, a Stafford resident who is a lawyer, activist and former state Senate candidate, and Lavangelene Williams, a resident of King George who was our 2018 nominee. The winner will take on Republican Rob Wittman, a foot soldier in Donald Trump's Army of Indecency. Precincts will be open for voting from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on June 23.

Absentee Application Mailers

As part of our ongoing outreach efforts, all members of the Hanover County Democratic Committee should have received an application to apply for an absentee ballot. Your committee is strongly encouraging every one of our members to vote absentee. Please mail in your application today if you have not already done so. You may make copies of the ballot application for other families or friends to complete and submit. Members can also apply online to receive an absentee ballot. Due to the coronavirus, everyone is eligible to vote absentee. Select the reason "2A My Disability or Illness" when filling out the application. Furthermore, please promote absentee voting in your neighborhoods and networks.

Membership Renewal

Every two years we renew our memberships. If you have not done so already, please renew your membership today. Information on renewal can be found here.